2012 Washington County fireworks guide

Fireworks Guide for Washington County | Image by Brett Barrett, St. George News

WASHINGTON COUNTY– Utah state fireworks restrictions have changed for the 2012 summer season. All Washington County cities uphold the state’s restrictions and some have added a few of their own. For example, due to heightened fire risks, the St. George Fire Marshall has reduced launching sites for fireworks to three designated spots in the city.

State law allows discharge of any fireworks bought in Utah. However, fireworks purchased outside of Utah, like at the Valley of Fire outside of Las Vegas, remain illegal.

Under Utah law, fireworks purchased in the state of Utah can be discharged from 11 a.m. to midnight on July 4 and 24; from 11 a.m.-11 p.m. from July 1-July 7, and from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. July 21-27.

Some cities have additional fireworks restrictions. Here’s information on additional fireworks regulations in Washington County:

Hurricane: Fireworks may only be discharged from the Spilsbury Park ball fields, the American Legion ball fields, Three Falls Park and Pioneer Park.

Ivins: Absolutely no fireworks allowed.

La Verkin: Same restrictions as Hurricane.

Leeds: Use of fireworks is allowed only during specific times on July 4 and only in the town park behind town hall. Fireworks may not be used on any other date or in any other location. The allowed times for firework use on July 4 and information about the official fireworks show will be advertised on Leeds’ town website. The Leeds fire department will supervise the use of fireworks and will hold an official fireworks show if conditions are safe and if weather permits. If July 4 is too windy or has too high fire danger, all fireworks events will be moved to July 24.

Rockville: Same restrictions as Springdale, i.e. absolutely no fireworks allowed.

Santa Clara: To be determined. This section will be updated when city officials respond to our inquiries.

Springdale: Absolutely no fireworks allowed.

St. George: Fireworks may only be used in certain areas. The city of St. George has an interactive map that shows where you may use fireworks. In addition, it is against the law to discharge fireworks within 20 feet of any building.

Toquerville: Fireworks may only be discharged in the city park ball field (250 W. Center St.), and only on July 4 and July 24 from dusk until 11 p.m.

Washington City: No fireworks allowed north or east of I-15, mile markers 10-17; south of Telegraph Road; or east of Washington Fields Road (300 East). Fireworks are only allowed in the parking lot between the baseball diamond and soccer field at the community center and in the clearly marked areas in the parking lot at Pine View Park. No aerial fireworks allowed. Fireworks can be discharged in the appropriate areas July 1-July 7 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. and July 21-July 27 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. Additionally, fireworks may be discharged until midnight on July 4 and July 24. Washington City will offer a public fireworks display at the Washington City Community Center on July 24 at approximately 9 p.m.

Cedar City: Fireworks may only be used in the parking lot north of the bicentennial ball fields, the parking lot west of the Cedar City aquatic center, the parking lot on the south side of Canyon View High School, the parking lot south of Cedar High School, and the parking lot at Iron Springs Elementary.

Unincorporated areas of Washington County: Fireworks cannot be discharged in any unincorporated land in Washington County, regardless if it’s state-owned land, federal-owned land, or privately-owned land.

Unincorporated areas in the state of Utah: As of June 14, no fireworks may be discharged.

Given the vulnerability of many areas this wildfire season, further restrictions may be imposed in any of the listed areas. This Guide will be updated as needed to reflect current provisions.  The St. George News community is encouraged to save the link as your resource for the season, and check back for any updates.

Alternative to do-it-yourself fireworks:

The St. George Fourth of July Celebration will make an unprecedented and historic use of St. George’s unique natural theater, as fireworks will be launched from four separate sites simultaneously, filling four corners with splendor in our skies, fully choreographed in a 21-minute marriage of music and patriotic narration broadcasting live over 99.9 KONY FM radio.

For more information, click here.

Please remember to use fireworks responsibly. Always have a source of water nearby and exercise care with children.


Joyce Kuzmanic contributed to this article.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @TracieMcFarlin

Copyright 2012 St. George News.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!


  • Tyler June 28, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    So basically all these silly rules of where fireworks are to be set off in each city is saying people can’t light off fireworks in their own neighborhoods on the streets?? Get real, like that’s gonna happen!

    • Kirby June 28, 2012 at 4:08 pm

      Actually, yes, it will happen as far as they can enforce it. It was the same last year. Most people were just politely asked to move to one of the designated areas, as it is likely they were not informed of the rules. The cities have difficulty conveying the rules to everyone. But if it’s obvious you were aware of the fireworks regulations and ignored them, you could be fined. This is for everyone’s safety, as we live in a high fire danger area.

  • Big @$$ Bob June 29, 2012 at 12:17 am

    Restrictions posted on sgcity.org. The restrictions are in common sense areas of the city i.e. black hills, red cliffs desert reserve, any open desert areas within the city.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.