‘I hope the next council is as good a team as we have been’: Outgoing St. George Councilmen bid farewell

ST. GEORGE — In its last meeting of the year, the St. George City Council bid farewell to two outgoing members.

L-R: St. George Mayor Michele Randall, Councilmen Bryan Smethurst, Gregg McArthur and Vardell Curtis. Smethurst and Curtis bid farewell to the council during their last meeting of the year, St. George, Utah, Dec, 16, 2021 | Photo by Mori Kessler, St. George News

As the Thursday evening meeting wound down following an hour-long discussion and subsequent approval of the Tech Ridge development agreement, St. George Mayor Michele Randall noted it was the last meeting for Vardell Curtis and Bryan Smethurst as members of the City Council.

Both men were appointed to the City Council over the last term. Curtis was chosen to replace Randall in February following her appointment to fill former St. George Mayor Jon Pike’s seat once he was picked to be part of Gov. Spencer Cox’s administration.

Curtis nearly lost to the seat to M. Rick Erickson when the matter was initially decided by a coin toss but later settled via the mayor’s tie-breaking vote.

“I’ll never view a coin toss the same way again,” Curtis chuckled.

Smethurst was appointed in September 2019 following the death of his stepfather, sitting Councilman Joe Bowcutt.

They each ran for election and were defeated by incoming council additions Michelle Tanner and Natalie Larsen.

“It’s been a great run,” Smethurst said. “I hope the next council is as good a team as we have been. I really hope you have the cohesion we have had. I appreciate the friendships I have gained over here and the people I’ve met and worked for, so thank you for giving me the opportunity.”

Curtis, who was emotional at times are he spoke, said being appointed to the City Council had been a great learning experience and he was also grateful for the opportunity to serve.

“Sometimes you don’t know what you don’t know until you put yourself in a position to learn and teach, as well as learn,” Curtis said.

The two new council members will be sworn into office early next year.

Copyright St. George News, SaintGeorgeUtah.com LLC, 2021, all rights reserved.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!